YUM! ~ Chicken Fajitas

Is it too soon for another recipe?  This one is really good tho so I just have to share.  It’s late… I’ve been downtown and back reading lusty love books… yes you know the ones… I’m sad to have finished such a wonderful love story but… that’s for another time.  Time to share.  Cuz it’s yum yum in my tum tum!
 
Chicken Fajitas
I’d say this makes 6 servings?  I use the big big big giant size flour tortillas tho…
 
4 chicken breasts cut in thin strips
1 green pepper cut in thin strips
1 red pepper cut in thin strips
1 orange pepper cut in thin strips
2 jalapeno peppers cut in thin strips
1 white onion sliced in half and then in thin slices, seperating the half rings
8 cherry tomatoes sliced in half lengthwise
 
now the rest… I eyeball and adjusts to taste.  Here is my approximate guess on the measurements
2 Tbsp cornstarch
pinch of sugar
2 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp chipotle powder
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
juice of 1/2 a lime
1/2 C of water
3 Tbsp oil
2 C  Pepper Jack/Monteray Jack Cheese
2 C cheddar cheese 
4 C cooked white rice
flour tortillas
 
 
Heat 1 Tbsp of oil in a frying pan
fry up the chicken till no longer pink. 
 
Once the chicken is cooked:
add in the onions
cover and fry for 2 minutes
add the peppers fry for 2 minutes
 
 
add the tomatoes fry for 2 minutes
 
 
add the juice of lime 
 
 
I find adding the lime juice to the chicken and veggies enhances all the flavors and gives it some bite.  Feel free to add more or omit completely.  Your call!
 
In a bowl mix the cornstarch, sugar, salt, chipotle powder, chili powder, & cumin, with the water and the remaining 2 Tbsps of oil.  Gently whisk together till fully blended
 
Cook on medium heat till the sauce thickens.
 
Heat tortillas in the oven.
 
in a line across the tortilla:
add a bit of the cheeses
then the rice
then the chicken and pepper mixture
 fold the sides in and then from the bottom up, wrap the toritilla around the filling. 
 
Heat a small amount of oil or spray oil in a pan and fry till brown and crispy on both sides.
 
serve with sour cream and salsa!
Enjoy!
 
I didn’t take a picture of the finished product cuz we were to hungry… I will take a picture tomorrow.
 
 
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “YUM! ~ Chicken Fajitas

  1. […] Guys!  I had been using a fajita seasoning mix recipe that I got a few years back.  I had posted about some yummy Chicken Fajita’s back in 2012 […]

    Like

Please let me know what you think!

