Vegetable Beef Barley Soup

Soup craze! Yup that is me! Pure satisfaction of chopping everything up into uniform pieces. Pure satisfaction of smelling it all come together. Pure satisfaction when I get rave reviews from Hubby. We were down in the states getting gas, groceries and stuff for the renovations and I picked up a nice beef chuck oven roast and my first thought was beef barley soup. But remember we are trying to be healthy or rather, healthier…. so I added in a bunch of veggies.

20130527-110716.jpg

-My Vegetable Beef Barley Soup is made up of beef broth and water.
-Rubbed the roast with salt, pepper and garlic and browned each side in a frying pan in a little butter.
-Put the roast into my slow cooker with a little water and let her go till tender and medium rare.
-Let it cool before chopping it up into bite size little uniform cubes
-Throw the beef pieces into the frying pan with a tiny bit more butter, sprinkle with more S & P and quickly get it searing hot and just toss the pieces for a few minutes. This will bring out more flavor and seal in its juices.
-Sautéed onions in butter in the bottom of my favorite stock pot, a gift from my Grandma 🙂
-Added beef broth and water, lots and lots of both! I like a lot of soup!
-Bring it to a light boil and then added in the barley. I like my barley to be pretty soft so I let that cook for 45 minutes to an hour before adding in some of the veggies.
-When barley is 3/4 cooked to your liking add in cubed potatoes, chopped carrots, celery and the beef.
-Light boil till veggies are tender
-Now I added in the fun stuff: cut green beans, corn, & tomatoes
-Add some salt and pepper to your liking
Let it meld together for about 15 minutes and then jar it up while it’s hot!

20130527-112904.jpg

My pot of soup filled up two pasta jars and one XL jar as well as three 1.6 ltr tubs that I put in the freezer.

20130527-112511.jpg

First time making this soup and it was really great! If you like soup as much as I do please share some of your favorites! I’ve got everything I need to make one of my all time favorite soups next, New England Clam Chowder! Can’t wait, in fact I’m having to wait so that I have room for it in the fridge and freezer!!

Thanks for visiting, if you liked this blog please click LIKE below.
If you want to follow my blog please scroll to the bottom, click the FOLLOW button and enter in your email address.

Love Haleykins

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please let me know what you think!

