Bruschetta Chicken on Spinach and Avocado Salad

20140118-220113.jpgLook at it all steaming and juicy up there. My photos are aways rushed and half assed because I’m anxious to eat it! Haha. #bloggerproblems

I made my Bruschetta Chicken again. I baked it in the oven this time, because the air is thick and the fog is heavy and I really don’t want to be out by the BBQ right now.

I make this often it seems but I added a little twist by putting it on a salad this time. It’s that good. Plus, I need to eat more green veggies.

Fresh Spinach is a favorite in our house.
20140118-220133.jpgSince I decided to do a salad with the chicken this time, I got to work on the tomatoes and dressing the day before so it had lots of time to marinade together.

Start by chopping up and deseeding 4 Roma tomatoes, into small even pieces so they stay on the chicken nicely.

Add in 2 Premade Homemade Garlic Balls or 4 or 5 minced garlic cloves.

I used 1 full packet of fresh basil and about half of another one {rolled and sliced, chiffonade style}.

But the good thing about cooking and the reason I find it so hard to post specific recipes is that… it’s always up to you, as to how much of what, you add. Your palate is different than mine and the joy of cooking is making it your own Fo Sho! Whoa, ramble, where was I? Oh ya the tomato mixture…

K, add in some coarse sea salt and about a cup and a bit more of the balsamic vinegar. Give it a good mix and then refrigerate it over night.
20140118-220141.jpgDay of dinner!

Butterfly 4 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts {see how in my previous Bruschetta Chicken post done a few months ago}

I then scored them and drizzled on some balsamic and popped those bad boys in a preheated 400 degree oven for 25 minutes. After this time I cranked the heat up to 425 and left them for another 5 minutes.
20140118-220208.jpg15 minutes after you’ve put the chicken in you’ll want to prepare the basic salad. This is made up of fresh baby spinach leaves, cubed avocado {this is why we wait 15 minutes. Don’t want your avocados to brown on you.} and some more chopped up Roma tomatoes.

Next pull out your marinaded tomatoes. With a spoon take some of the liquid, the oh-so-yummy, garlicky, vinegary, tomatoey goodness, and drizzle it over your salad. Some might want to add some olive oil but I don’t see the point. It’s not needed!!

My phone starts wailing “I’m Different by 2 Chains signifying that the chicken is ready for toppings. I let it play for a few beats and jam out obviously, before taking it out of the oven.
Reduce the heat back down to 400 degrees.

Sprinkle some mozzarella cheese and heap on the marinated tomatoes. I think I get them close to an inch high. Completely cover the chicken with the tomatoes, in my opinion this is the best!

Bake in the oven again for about 10 minutes keep your eye on em.
Tomatoes stay fairly fresh and juicy.
20140118-220218.jpgWhen they’re done they look like this. I know, I can’t believe the cooking sheet actually comes clean after this, but it does, to some degree… LOL

Now, I like to find my biggest knife and chop up the chicken into lengthwise strips on a cutting board. Lift the cutting board and swipe that juicy, hot, steaming chicken onto your oh-so-fresh salad.

Need I say more? No, I thought not.
Now grab a fork and dig in.
You have waited long enough.
20140118-220230.jpg

20140118-220237.jpg

20140118-220245.jpg

20140118-220251.jpg
Thanks for visiting, if you liked this blog please click LIKE below.
If you want to follow my blog please scroll to the bottom, click the FOLLOW button and enter in your email address.

Love Haleykins
20131230-210222.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bruschetta Chicken on Spinach and Avocado Salad

  1. Marianne Hansen says:

    Looks so good Haley! I want this!
    💕 Mom

    Like

Please let me know what you think!

