SIMPLE SALSA

Hello Everyone!! It’s been quite a while since I did a post. I apologize for the hiatus, my mind has been preoccupied with my trip to Mexico. Ok let’s be real. I spent some weeks going through the pantry and freezer putting together things, I had to create some meals…. It was time to clear out a bunch of those one off cans of who knows what mixed with a little of this and a little of that. Nothing pretty, a little weird, but it was food in the belly and that’s all that matters. Really tho my mind had been in the clouds counting down the days to our little vacation in the sun. We are home now and yet the spirit of Mexico lives on in our home. We purchased a wooden bowl set for salsa, guac, and chips and I just love them. I’ve wanted a set for a long time now. Ever since our first trip to Mexico back in 2011. I was so excited to pull them out of our suitcases that I hoped in the truck and took of to the market for supplies. Simple Salsa is up next.
20140306-154823.jpg

🌵 SIMPLE SALSA 🌵

3 ROMA TOMATOES (choose the harder ones over the soft ones)
1/4 WHITE ONION
1 SERRANO PEPPER
1 JALAPENO PEPPEER
1/2 LIME
1 PRE MADE HOMEMADE GARLIC BALL {or 4 minced cloves of garlic}
CILANTRO
SEA SALT
20140306-193406.jpgStart with the tomatoes, hard roma tomatoes work best. I cut them in half lengthwise and then cut those in half lengthwise again. Scrape out all the seeds and juice. Dice them up really fine. Smaller bits are easier to scoop up.
20140306-195757.jpg
Dice up the onion really fine as well. Same size as you did the tomatoes.
20140306-154853.jpgWhen chopping up peppers be sure to wear gloves. Bell peppers, you’ll be fine but these hot peppers require gloves. I burnt my left thumb with burns from these peppers once before and lets just say I’ve learned my lesson. My fingerprint is not the same as it once was. These are the best ways to cut up peppers like these ones. For Jalapeno’s, cut off the top part with the stem and slice off the parts not attached to the ribs. See the first 2 pictures above. For Serrano’s, since these ones are even thinner, cut of the top part again with the stem and then cut the pepper in half lengthwise. With the tip of a sharp knife, carefully run it under the ribs of the pepper, removing them in one clean cut. Take a look at the 3rd picture above.
20140306-154859.jpgOnce again, dice up the peppers nice and fine…. I like these to be very very tiny. Mince them. That’s a more appropriate word.
20140306-154926.jpgSqueeze the juice from half a lime into the bowl and let the very merry tomato marinating party begin. Add in the thawed PRE MADE HOMEMADE GARLIC BALL
20140306-154933.jpgChop up a few fresh cilantro leaves or if you are one of those people that says “I don’t like cilantro” that I shake my head at well then simply omit the cilantro from your Simple Salsa. Easy Breezy…
20140306-154941.jpgThe whole thing comes together all quite quickly and look it’s even the colours of the Mexican flag.
20140306-154950.jpgLet this marinade together for at least a few hours in the fridge before serving in and airtight container. Don’t worry about it not being to ‘wet’ as the salt will draw out the liquids in the tomatoes, onions and peppers and mix with the lime juice. It’s to die for delicious and worth the wait.
20140306-154956.jpgWe opted for organic tortilla chips, gluten free and that had the lowest calorie content. Que Paso chips from the organic section of the grocery store. I just love how it looks in the new mexican salsa bowl we brought home.
Scarf it up and imagine a mariachi band playing, the ocean waves crashing and the sun beaming down warming your skin.
20140306-205547.jpg
Ahhh Mexico, we love and miss you already.
20140306-210224.jpg
Thanks for visiting, if you liked this blog please click LIKE below.
If you want to follow my blog please scroll to the bottom, click the FOLLOW button and enter in your email address.

Love Haleykins
20140306-210052.jpg
**Please click OLDER POSTS, {below} to see more**

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “SIMPLE SALSA

  1. google says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this
    site before but after browsing through many of the
    posts I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly happy I found it
    and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

    Like

  2. J.J. Jones says:

    Fabulous presentation Haley! Hugs J.J.

    Like

  3. Marianne Hansen says:

    I want some right now! Looks so good, especially in your new bowls.

    Like

Please let me know what you think!

