Crispy Panko Fish Tacos

20130528-141422.jpg

Do you spend many Sundays reorganizing your fridge and freezer as often as I do? How can such a small space fall apart so quickly? Maybe because it’s small and that makes it difficult to hunt for what I’m looking for? Anyways, while rummaging through the freezer for who knows what, I found a recent purchase of some Basa fillets. Perfect! I have everything to make Hubby some fish taco’s. he had mentioned wanting to try fish tacos with breaded fish, or a crunchy outside. We’ve only ever had them grilled, so I granted his request and heaved out the giant box of Panko.

Then, he came into my kitchen, poked his head around the corner and asked me… “Are you really making dinner and making soup?” As he looks at the clock. I can handle this don’t worry babe. The thing is these fish tacos need to be made to order as you don’t want your fish getting soggy. They are super easy to whip up you just need to have the right ingredients ready and on hand.

Special thank you to GalPal, Kristy!! She has been giving me jars of her homemade salsa which is some of the best salsa ever! These tacos are good but I know they are this good because of her salsa!! Thanks Girl!!
**But on a side note: it’s her fault I’m addicted to Candy Crush Saga**
20130528-152626.jpg
Here we go!

Crispy Panko Fish Taco’s
With Cilantro Lime Sour Cream

Cilantro Lime Sour Cream ~ It’s as simple as it sounds
Take the juice of 2 fresh limes and mix with about 1 1/2 cups fat free sour cream
Mix in about a 1/2 cup of chopped fresh cilantro. Mmmmmmm yum love cilantro!
I added in about a 1/2 tbsp of puréed chipotle peppers for a hint of kick! Hubby loves him some kick! Haha

In a flat dish, I made an egg mixture using a 4 or 5 eggs, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper.
Give it a wisk
Slide in 2 Basa fillets, thawed, rinsed and patted dry
Place the fish and egg mixture in the fridge for about 30 minutes
In another flat dish sprinkle out about 3 cups of Panko
Sprinkle the of ok with salt, pepper and cayenne pepper
Next, remove fish from the egg mixture and cover with seasoned Panko. Get a good layer on these babies
In a frying pan, heat some oil about a 1/2 high and fry the fish on both sides till golden brown and crispy crunchy! Yum
Let it cool on some paper towels and chop it up into chunks for the tacos
20130528-152006.jpg
Heat some medium tortillas in a frying pan
Drizzle tortilla with some of the sour cream
Add shredded lettuce, cubed avocado, diced purple onion
Top with the fish, some of Kristy’s Spicy Salsa and a squirt of fresh lime
Oh ok and another drizzle of the cilantro lime sour cream
Eat and Enjoy!
20130528-152111.jpg

20130528-154853.jpg

Thanks for visiting, if you liked this blog please click LIKE below.
If you want to follow my blog please scroll to the bottom, click the FOLLOW button and enter in your email address.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please let me know what you think!